Columbianism Life

The Columbian Order, by its very nature, its objectives, its characteristics and its principles, cannot help but make one proud to be associated with such a movement. It has undergone constant and natural evolution. It is for this reason that it has been able, particularly in Quebec, to live on for these many years.

Recruitment

Recruitment has been a constant preoccupation of the Officers of the Order since its founding in Quebec. The movement seeks, by various means, to recruit candidates, to increase its membership and to conserve existing membership.

To become a member of our movement, click here!

Elite Recruitment Club

The Elite Recruitement Club gives prizes to members who achieve - and exceed - their membership goals target.

To learn more and see the prizes, click here!

Initiation Ceremonies

The stages of The Knights of Columbus Pilgrimage, that the Order has preserved since its foundation, which include the Initiation Ceremonies must encourage a motivation strong enough to develop an apostolate for today's world, hence: the initiation to the Degrees are intended as an original pedagogical method which consists of tests which must be passed, levels to be attained; initiation rites which must deliver one or more messages, deliver lessons and provide a significant experience; initiation to the Degrees draw on a sense of marvel, fascination, belonging, discovery and uncertainty.

It should be noted that a promise of faithfulness and engagement is required of the aspiring member during the Initiation Ceremonies.

To see a list of initiation ceremonies, click here.

Sponsorship

The sponsor is considered to be an usher, a doorway, a godfather, hence the term sponsor. The Order does not deviate from this custom or tradition, so every candidate is always introduced and accompanied, during his first steps in the Movement, by a sponsoring Knight.

Local Councils

The basic elements of the Columbian Movement permit:

  • a Columbian quality of life (programs, activities, works, Christian fellowship and involvement in the community), and active participation of its members;
  • a fraternal quality of life (social and leisure activities).

In the course of a general consultation of the Movement's membership, which tooks place at the level of the State Councils, it was decided to open Council proceedings to the public, in order to enhance the credibility of the Order and to allow it to become a vital part of important community decisions.

Find a council near you!

THE COLUMBIAN magazine

The Columbian magazine, published four times a year, by the Quebec State Council, and the monthly Colombia magazine published by the Supreme Council in New Haven Conn. U.S.A., is designed to be the information pipeline and the method of transmitting the Order's official decisions. It also encourages the maintenance of a sense of belonging to the Order, through members keeping up on various facets of Columbian life. Through their magazines, the Knights of Columbus are informed of the numerous and varied activities taking place that reinforce the four principles of daily life within our movement.

To read the last issue.
See the latest edition!

Columbian Squires (youth)

The objective of the Columbian Squires Groups is to allow young men from 12 to 17 years of age to develop ideals and to form their character through the mentoring of an adult.
For more information, click here.

The Fourth Degree

Founded on the principle of Patriotism, the Fourth Degree in the Order is intended to give the Knights of Columbus a more visible profile on certain occasions, through the wearing of the distinctive costume of the Honor Guard. For more information Click here.

A Catholic, family-based and fraternal Movement at the service of the community.

Every movement, whatever it may represent, cannot exist without members devoted to its cause and who believe in their movement and its aims. The Columbian Order draws its strength from each of its Knights, who are always ready to work and to involve themselves in parish, pastoral, community, family, youth and other activities.

  • The Knights of Columbus have a place in church life
  • The Knights of Columbus have a place in the community
  • The Knights of Columbus Insurance has a place in the security of its members
  • Wives have a place in the Order of the Knights of Columbus
  • Families have a place in the Order of the Knights of Columbus
  • The Knights of Columbus have a place in the lives of our youth
  • The Knights of Columbus have a place with the elderly and the handicapped

To be involved, means to involve yourself personally.

Cheminement colombien

L'Ordre colombien, de par sa nature, ses objectifs, ses caractéristiques et ses principes, ne peut que rendre fier d'appartenir à un si beau mouvement. Il a connu une évolution constante et même... naturelle. C'est ce qui lui permet, au Québec, d'être toujours vivant après tant d'années.

Le recrutement

Le recrutement est l'une des préoccupations constantes des Officiers de l'Ordre depuis son implantation au Québec. Le mouvement cherche, par de nombreux moyens, à recruter des candidats, à augmenter son effectif et à conserver ses membres.

Pour adhérer à notre mouvement, cliquez ICI!

Club Élite de recrutement

Le Club Élite de recrutement récompense les meilleurs recruteurs avec des prix!

Pour l'information et les prix, cliquez ICI!

Les Cérémonies d'accueil

Étapes du pèlerinage colombien que l'Ordre connaît depuis sa fondation, les Cérémonies d'accueil doivent susciter une motivation suffisante pour développer un apostolat pour aujourd'hui. Donc : l'initiation aux degrés se veut un moyen pédagogique original qui consiste en des épreuves à passer, des étapes à franchir; les rites initiatiques doivent livrer un ou des messages, dégager des leçons et faire vivre une expérience forte; l'initiation aux degrés fait appel également à des sentiments d'émerveillement, de fascination, d'appartenance, de découverte, d'incertitude.

Il est à noter qu'une promesse de fidélité et d'engagement est demandée à l'aspirant membre lors des Cérémonies d'accueil.

Pour visionner la liste des Cérémonies d'accueil enregistrées au Secrétariat d'État, cliquez ici.

Le parrainage

Le parrain est un rôle dès plus important, car cela requiert un suivi constant dans le cheminement de nouveaux membres dont il est le guide. Il est considéré comme un introducteur, un mentor, une source de confiance et d’information. L'Ordre n'échappe pas à cette coutume ou tradition, de sorte qu'un candidat est toujours présenté et accompagné, pour ses premiers pas dans le mouvement, par un frère chevalier parrain

Les Conseils locaux

Ces constituantes de la base même du mouvement colombien permettent :

  • une qualité de vie colombienne (programmes, activités, oeuvres, ressourcement chrétien et implication dans le milieu) et une grande participation des membres;
  • une qualité de vie fraternelle (activités sociales ou de loisir).

Lors d'une consultation générale des membres du mouvement, réalisée dans le cadre d'États généraux, il a été décidé d'ouvrir au public les portes des Conseils, non seulement pour les activités, mais aussi pour redonner une image plus juste de l'Ordre et lui permettre de devenir partie prenante des décisions importantes des milieux.

Trouvez le conseil le plus près de chez vous!

La revue LE COLOMBIEN

La revue Le Colombien, publiée quatre fois l'an, se veut l'organe d'information et le moyen de diffusion du discours officiel de l'Ordre. Elle permet d'entretenir un lien d'appartenance à l'Ordre, car les membres y retrouvent certaines tranches de la vie colombienne des Conseils. Par leur revue, les Chevaliers de Colomb sont renseignés sur les activités nombreuses et variées qui s'articulent autour des quatre principes vécus au quotidien.

Cette revue est disponible en format imprimé ou PDF.
Voir le dernier numéro!

Les Écuyers colombiens (les jeunes)

Le but des Cercles d'Écuyers colombiens est de permettre à des jeunes de 12 à 17 ans d'acquérir un idéal et de former leur caractère par l'intermédiaire du leadership d'un adulte.
Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

Le Quatrième Degré

Fondé sur le principe du patriotisme, le Quatrième degré d'accueil dans l'Ordre a comme but de rendre plus visible la présence des Chevaliers de Colomb en certaines occasions, par un costume distinctif ou celui du corps de garde en certaines circonstances. Cliquez ici pour plus d'informations.

Un mouvement catholique, familial et fraternel au service du milieu

Tout mouvement, quel qu'il soit, ne peut exister sans des membres dévoués à sa cause et qui croient en leur mouvement et en ses finalités. L'Ordre colombien tire sa force de chacun des Chevaliers, lesquels sont prêts à oeuvrer et à s'impliquer dans des activités paroissiales, pastorales, communautaires, familiales, jeunesse et autres.

  • Les Chevaliers de Colomb ont une place dans la vie de l'Église
  • Les Chevaliers de Colomb ont une place dans la communauté
  • L'assurance des Chevaliers de Colomb a une place dans la sécurité des membres
  • Les conjointes ont une place dans l'Ordre des Chevaliers de Colomb
  • Les familles ont une place dans l'Ordre des Chevaliers de Colomb
  • Les Chevaliers de Colomb ont une place dans la vie des jeunes
  • Les Chevaliers de Colomb ont une place auprès des personnes âgées et des handicapés

S'engager, ça veut dire s'impliquer personnellement...