Youth Activities

We would like to make our youth of today aware of our movement... At what point are we there and how are we doing in this respect in order to renew our movement with younger members? At what point are we listening to new ideas from our young brothers within our Councils? Can we make our movement a more interesting vehicle to recruit more young people today?

Jeunesse

When we speak of a non-profit organization composed of volunteer members such as the Knights of Columbus, we must evolve and be in tune with today's youth to create a new and renewed generation for a dynamic and competent renewal.

Today, the typical profile of a young man of 18 to 40 years is characterized by the fact that he starts his life with a spouse, child, with very demanding work load, long working hours involving sometimes weekends. In addition, activities and entertainment around his friends probably come together very infrequently. So we see that this period of free time is rather precarious and limited for a young person who wants to get involved as volunteers, but must provide for his needs and those of his family.

In addition, interests, talents and experience are hardly met unanimously especially with intergenerational groups in Councils ... Our young people can aspire to change, to new ideas and some even want to create projects that will attract friends who are not Knights of Columbus members. It must give free rein to new ideas and keep those activities that are still successful for Councils.

Therefore, knowing when to leave the reins of responsibility to someone else and to let someone younger take over and to then guide and support that younger person becomes an art, not a game of power in this case ... We must therefore take note that we must delegate and teach! Provide them with interesting roles and positions and above all do not be afraid of their strengths and talents and help them navigate through their Colombian pilgrimage.

Fraternally,
Head of youth program

Activités jeunesse

Nous voudrions vous sensibiliser sur notre jeunesse d’aujourd’hui… Quelle place faisons-nous pour notre relève dans notre mouvement ? À quel point que nous sommes à l’écoute des nouvelles idées provenant de nos jeunes frères dans nos conseils ? Pouvons-nous rendre cet organisme intéressant au point de recruter des jeunes encore aujourd’hui ?

Jeunesse

Lorsque nous parlons d’un organisme à but non lucratif regroupant des membres bénévoles comme les Chevaliers de Colomb, il faut évoluer et se mettre au diapason de la jeunesse d’aujourd’hui pour en créer une relève dynamique et compétente.

De nos jours, le profil type d’un jeune homme de 18 à 40 ans se caractérise par le fait qu’il démarre sa vie avec une conjointe, des enfants, un travail très exigeant au niveau du nombre d’heures et travaillant ainsi parfois les fins de semaine. De plus, ses activités et loisirs se regroupent autour de ses amis qu’il voit probablement très peu souvent. Donc, nous constatons que cette période est plutôt précaire pour un jeune qui voudrait bien s’impliquer bénévolement mais qui doit subvenir à ses besoins et à ceux de sa petite famille.

Par ailleurs, les goûts de tous ne font guère l’unanimité lorsque nous voyons surtout des groupes intergénérationnels dans les conseils… Nos plus jeunes peuvent aspirer au changement, aux idées nouvelles et certains veulent même créer des projets qui attireront leurs amis qui ne sont pas membres Chevaliers de Colomb. Il faut donc laisser libre cour aux idées nouvelles et conserver ceux qui procurent toujours des réussites au sein des conseils.

Par conséquent, savoir laisser sa place à quelqu’un de plus jeune pour ensuite le guider et l’appuyer devient un art et non un simple jeu de pouvoir dans ce cas-ci… Il faut donc prendre bonne note qu’il faut savoir déléguer et enseigner ! Offrez-leur des postes intéressants et supérieurs, n’ayons pas peur de leur dynamisme et aidons-les à parcourir leur cheminement colombien.